Golden Aphrodite

Well, today is my birthday and I have so much to talk about.  Let’s start with Aphrodite and what I did to honor her the other day (Oct. 6).

I could tell as soon as I awoke that morning, that it was going to be one of those days where I’d find myself spending most of my time tending the house, and such.  I wasn’t feeling particularly beautiful, or graceful, or charismatic, but I prayed to Aphrodite at her shrine anyway, explaining that I couldn’t offer her the kind of undivided attention that she deserved, and asked that if she only waited a few days, I would write a post about her to share with everyone.  I then lit some cinnamon incense for her, which I believe she accepted, because not long afterward, I began to feel very loving and heart-full.

Her golden image kept popping up in my mind, the scene of her birth that is so well presented in Homeric Hymn #VI:

~

I will sing of stately Aphrodite, gold-crowned and beautiful, whose dominion is the walled cities of all sea-set Cyprus. There the moist breath of the western wind wafted her over the waves of the loud-moaning sea in soft foam, and there the gold-filleted Hours welcomed her joyously. They clothed her with heavenly garments: on her head they put a fine, well-wrought crown of gold, and in her pierced ears they hung ornaments of orichalc and precious gold, and adorned her with golden necklaces over her soft neck and snow-white breasts, jewels which the gold- filleted Hours wear themselves whenever they go to their father’s house to join the lovely dances of the gods. And when they had fully decked her, they brought her to the gods, who welcomed her when they saw her, giving her their hands. Each one of them prayed that he might lead her home to be his wedded wife, so greatly were they amazed at the beauty of violet-crowned Cytherea.

~

After that, I just had to be outside in the warm sun, to feel her loving, solar arms enfold me.  Aphrodite is such a multi-faceted goddess.  I see her in the sun, and the sea, and in the constant perpetuation of life in South Texas, as well as the love blooming in my heart for the gods, and the spirits of this land.

Even now, in October, flowers and fruits are budding before the weather cools enough for the plants to hibernate.  Aphrodite’s passion keeps them inflamed with the desire to procreate new life, just as her passion does the same for humans.  Just think of all the women whose babies will be born in the summer months.  Aphrodite is with them now, inspiring grace, beauty, eloquence, and a multitude of other blessings in them.

Which brings me to the second part of my story regarding her day.  Namely, how the goddess inspired me with uncharacteristic eloquence, allowing me to spontaneously declare my love to Apollon in poetic verse, as I stood outside with my arms outstretched toward the sun.

I can no longer remember what it is that I said, but what I felt from him as the words tumbled from my lips was sublime.  There is so much more I could say about it, but I promised myself I would focus more on the Golden Cyprian for this post.  I bring this up as an example of how giving Aphrodite can be. That she willingly gave up a large portion of her special day so that I could praise my Lord, who already gets two days per month set aside specifically for him, is amazingly selfless, like a mother’s love.  Of course, motherly love is also in her sphere of influence.  All kinds of love are hers, for all love originates with our most beloved Aphrodite.  And so, I will leave you now with one last image of the foam-born goddess, for your veneration.

Hail to you, beloved Aphrodite of the waves, and of the foam.  May we delight in you, and in your invincible powers of love and desire.  Praise to the mighty goddess of Cyprus, the mother of Eros, the lover of Ares, in whom both love and war depend.  We also depend on you, Golden One, to keep our hearts open to the many passions that you most gloriously represent.

Hail Aphrodite.

5 responses to “Golden Aphrodite

  1. Pingback: Weekly roundup of interesting links « The House of Vines

  2. Pingback: ‘My’ Aphrodite « Valiel's notes in english

  3. Loved it ! It is so funy because I’ve just written an article about her a week ago !

    • You know, I read your article about Aphrodite a couple weeks ago. It was very inspiring, but I didn’t realize it was yours until just now. It is very funny how the gods sometimes introduce their followers to one another. It’s like they just snatch us up, stick us together and say: “Now, figure out what you’ve got in common!”