When Hekate Really Isn’t Hekate

Why are some of my fellow Hellenic Polytheists so adverse to modern experiences of the gods?  I know you yourself might never have an experience of Hekate as a crone goddess, and that magic in your opinion is absolute hubris, but can you really assume that Hekate has not chosen to reveal herself in this way?  Can you say with certainty that Hekate is not personally training witches in the art of magic?  Can you say, without any doubt whatsoever, that Hekate is not actually showing up for my rituals?  No. You can’t.

“But that’s not really Hekate,” you reason.  “You’re just calling that Hekate.”

No.  Actually, I’m not.  You see, I’ve been working with Hekate for over fifteen years.  She comes when I call out to her, when I am sincere, when I need her, and she does so in whatever form pleases her.  Which is often the form that will benefit the worshiper most.

She is the torch-bearing maiden of the crossroads.  She is the goddess of liminal spaces.  She is the goddess whom even Zeus reveres, she who keeps her original share of heaven, sea and earth.  And she is the crone goddess of the witches.

Deny that all you want.  I know what Hekate feels like when she enters my sacred space, and it doesn’t matter what face she wears, because her Power is not limited by what image of her I see.  Nor is the goddess limited by your profound knowledge of ancient lore and practices.  And please trust me when I tell you, that I will not be limited by your anachronistic attitudes toward the divine, so let’s just agree to disagree.

Hail Hekate, and Blessed Be.

One response to “When Hekate Really Isn’t Hekate

  1. Pingback: Weekly roundup of interesting links « The House of Vines