Gods Make No Sense

Do the gods ever test you?  Like, do something just to see if you freak out, or to otherwise judge your reaction? Well, the Trio (my affectionate nick-name for Apollon, Hermes and Dionysos when they are working in tandem) have been up to some mischief.  And of course, they refuse to tell me what the real point of their antics are.

For example, occasionally Dionysos will appear looking like Apollon, and I’ll fall for it, for a few minutes at least, until I realize his energy doesn’t feel like Apollon’s at all.  And I ought to know, since most of the time I can barely tell where my mind ends and my Lord’s begins. As soon as I figure it out, Dionysos laughs, then tells me I’m a good girl, before he leaves.  Wtf?

Oh, and the dancing!  I’ve been getting into Belly Dance through instructional videos, because I’m poor, essentially.  (Lessons would be nice, but I have to be realistic.)  It is also nice to be able to share my new hobby with my god, from the convenience of my living room where I keep his shrine, so I’m not really complaining.  I am also not as coordinated as I remember myself to be, as those isolated hip movements have been quite difficult, which of course led to this:

About a week or so ago, after a long, late practice session, I was feeling really discouraged.  I’d never been that great of a dancer, and I only dance for my gods anyway, so it was fitting that Belly Dance, which has fascinated me throughout my life, would become the most fulfilling, yet difficult physical challenge I’d had in recent years.  I was totally exhausted, and hadn’t seen any measurable improvement in my technique after several weeks of dedicated practice.  So I fell asleep on the couch, disappointed by my lack of ability.  I couldn’t get the movements right, and it had really gotten me down. That night, Hermes, of all gods, appeared to me in a dream.

He said he’d seen my “dancing”, that I was awful, and that he’d help me out… for a price. He then grabbed me by the hips and began to manipulate them into the various positions.

Now, unlike those which I share with Apollon and Dionysos, my friendship with Hermes has always been strictly platonic. I’ve never been grabbed that way by anyone, let alone by a deity, especially one who has truly been like a brother to me.  So, as you can imagine, this was a whole new territory of awkward, and he was having way too much fun, in my opinion.  Much to my surprise, though, when I awoke the next morning, my technique actually was a little better.

Since then, I’ve received a few more lessons from Hermes about evolving friendships, and how ignoring divine overtures can be a bad idea.  Most of them are much too personal to share here, but I will tell you this.  It is easy to underestimate the sway Hermes has over modern, everyday life.  It is easy, and it is unwise.

Oh, and Apollon says he has a plan for me.  I don’t doubt it, but I do wonder why I need to be left in the dark.  ::groan::  It’s just the way my Lord operates, I suppose.  He’s never been too keen on revealing his motives, anyway, so I ought to just be satisfied with what little information I’ve been able to glean on my own.  From what I’ve gathered so far, it certainly looks like I’m in for an interesting year, to say the least.

3 responses to “Gods Make No Sense

  1. Belly dancing is awesome, I’ve been doing it for just over a year but I have been to classes the whole time. If you can get to one then go! It does take over the way you dance at all times though :P

    • I would much prefer taking a class, but I’m unable to afford it right now. But I figured I’d been putting it off for that reason for too many years, so I decided to see what I could accomplish on my own. Nothing ever gets done by procrastinating. lol You are so right about how it affects the way you dance all the time. I’ve been doing this for about a month, and it is slowly taking over every aspect of rhythmic movement in my body.

  2. Pingback: Miscellanea « The House of Vines