The Pursuit

 ~

“People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances within our own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.”  Joseph Campbell.

~

~

I know you want me
But caution inspires
Your tamed indifference
Won’t challenge me
Could it, could it be
Love’s what you deny me?
This spoiled seduction
Intoxicates thee,
So balanced on my halo
You long secretly
Could it, could it be
Love’s what you deny me?
Don’t deny yourself
‘Cause I know what you want
You can’t deny me
We’ll be together
So try to run, love
But you won’t get away
Could it, could it be
Love’s what you deny me?

~

~

I bet some of you might be wondering why I put up so many pictures of the pursuit of Daphne.  Well, I have a sort of affinity for Daphne, Apollon’s first love who was turned into the laurel tree, to avoid becoming the god’s conquest. She ran, but he was quicker, and in the end she was his, anyway. Perhaps not in love (as he wanted), but surely in body and in soul.

Her leaves and branches adorn his shining head, his Lyre, and many other things sacred to the god.  His pursuit of me was a mirror for Daphne’s, in some respects.  And when I was running, trying so desperately to escape the Wolf at my heels, Laurel Columbine was what he called me, and what he calls me to this day.

I don’t think it’s possible to escape from Apollon, if he really wants you.  Of course, the same could be said for any god.  They are infinitely more powerful than we are, and (as Hermes so eagerly reminded me) neither are they weighed down by human social mores.  When they want something (or someone), they’ll take just as readily as they’ll persuade.

It’s funny, I watch that Delerium video and I just know Apollon would do something like that (or worse).  It certainly wouldn’t be the first time he’s disguised himself as a woman in order to get a taste of someone he wanted. Of course, I’m not running anymore, and would deny my Lord nothing, because everything that I am is already his.

~

4 responses to “The Pursuit

  1. I love the Daphne myth! My friend decorated a pair of Vans with Ovid’s retelling. It was really beautiful…

    • Wow, I bet it was beautiful! The myth of Daphne is so beautiful and tragic. When I was younger, back before I knew what Apollon was doing to my life, I used to wonder why she ran from him. I know now… lol

  2. This reminds me of a book I read years ago called “The White Goddess” that had a poem or story about the “Chase” where there was a Goddess who shape shifts to get away from a God but was conquered in the end. I could be wording it wrong though.

    • I’ve heard about “The White Goddess”, but I haven’t read it. It sounds interesting though. I do love a good Chase and Conquer story, as long as it’s not my own.