Unexpected Experience

This happened several days ago, but while it’s still pretty fresh in my memory, I’ll tell you guys about it.

~

I worship Apollon all the time, but I don’t really have a steady relationship with his twin, Artemis.  Although I have worked with her before, my obligations to the goddess are typically fulfilled by daily prayers and libations to all the gods. Those few times that I have prayed to her specifically, she answered, but wasn’t entirely present in the same way Apollon, Aphrodite, Dionysos, or even Poseidon are present when I pray to them.

Well, I had a need the other day, and felt compelled to pray to Artemis and Apollon together.  I had never actually done this before.  Before that day, I’d strangely never even considered it.  But never the less, I called them both in clear speech, and with such confidence that I’m certain none of it came from my frantic mind.  I believe it was Apollon, speaking through me to his sister, as most of the petition was made toward her.  After speaking, and attempting to entice them for about five minutes, they arrived in the exact same moment.

I’m used to feeling Apollon intensely, but I was really shocked by the strength projected by Artemis.  She at once felt very similar to Apollon, yet very different.  They were so complimentary, like reflections of one another reaching deeply into my psyche.  I don’t think I understood until that moment just how essential they are together.

I know, I know.  Totally obvious, right? They’re twins, so of course they would compliment each other.  Well, I don’t always get the obvious stuff, right away.  lol  The experience was so remarkable, that it felt as though life itself were being squeezed into me, as opposed to out of me.

The two of them together were like a magnificent storm, swirling all around. I was encapsulated by their Power, surrounded entirely, when all of a sudden their divine energy poured into me, in answer to my petition.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to remain in a state of calm receptivity for long.  I had to get up and move, to do something about my problem, and I did.  It was quite an empowering and revelatory experience for me, and as I said, quite intense.

So, hats off to all those who honor Artemis and Apollon together on a regular basis.  I have only been given a glimpse of the complete picture that they represent.  That which you all know so well.

Hail Artemis and Apollon!

2 responses to “Unexpected Experience

  1. You pretty much nailed it when you said that they are twin flames reflecting each other. This is pretty close to the way I experience them when I pray to them, and also the direction of my thought when I wrote of their relationship together in my book. And the differences between them are complimented by that of the other. I am glad you were able to have such a powerful experience interacting with both of them.

    • I am also glad that I was able to have this experience. As soon as I can clear some more space, I think I’m going to look into setting up a shrine for Artemis, as well. I think that would be beneficial, not only for me, but for my daughter. She is old enough now to ask questions about individual gods, so she is probably old enough to start developing a relationship with Artemis, who protects the children.