Loving Imperfect Deities

The gods are not perfect.  Let me say it again.  The gods are not perfect, nor should they be expected to be.  When I try to explain this concept to others, a lot of the time it seems they just can’t think past their Western programming in regards to deity.  All gods are expected to fit the same mold as “you know who”, and if they don’t… well then they must not be gods, right?  Wrong.

All of the gods whom I’ve had the pleasure of knowing have been absolute individuals, down to the core.  That by itself should be enough to explain why they aren’t perfect.  Really, it should be.  It’s not like we humans don’t have massive experience dealing with each other, and all our individual imperfections.  Why is it so hard to believe that we and the gods may be more alike than different?

Maybe it’s because the gods aren’t made of the same stuff as us. At least, not obviously. All matter and energy are made up of the same elements, having been recycled throughout time and space, so really, I don’t think we’re that different, at all. Especially when you get down to the spirit of things.

Let us examine the soul, a while. Gods find our human souls immensly attractive, generally speaking. I believe there to be a type of magnetism at work here, drawing our gods toward those of us whose souls match their divine energy and powers. And in turn, we are drawn to those gods.

Well, what happens when two strikingly disimilar gods share strikingly similar tastes? Conflict! Yes! They may very well show you just how imperfect they really are, through petty squabbles and jealous meddling. Isn’t that nice?

Not a single one of us humans can claim to have never lost their temper over some pointless minutia, or because we just couldn’t be bothered to share our treasures with one another. The gods are not so different. Sometimes they get along, sometimes they don’t. Sometimes they like sharing, oftentimes not. We are their treasures, after all.

Which brings me to the next issue. If the gods aren’t perfect, what makes them worthy of our attention, let alone our love and devotion?

So many people have asked that question after hearing that I worship imperfect deities. My answer is always the same. An individual, any individual, need not be perfect to be loved. They need not be perfect to receive attention. And they need not be perfect to experience devotion. Who would say otherwise of another human? Why should the gods expect any less than the curtesy we extend to ourselves?

I love my god. He’s not perfect (though you could never tell by looking at him), and I don’t care. It never mattered to me anyway. All that did (and still does) matter, is that he loved me even more than I could ever dream. :)

All hail our glorious Lord Apollon!

11 responses to “Loving Imperfect Deities

  1. I really needed to hear every word of this! I love when you said, “We are their treasures, after all.” Thank you!!!!

  2. I know it’s your blog and you probably don’t mean it any harm but I am quite disturbed by the All hail part at the end of your post…

    • Well, that is too bad, dear. The “all hail” was for the Hellenists who worship Apollon. It applies to no one else, certainly not anyone who doesn’t like my god.

      • Then that should have been more explicitly stated. After recent events, I too find the implication that I’m being asked to hail a God with whom I do not wish to have any further dealings not only disturbing, but actively triggering–which I believe is what Solntse was trying to get at.

      • For that I certainly apologize. I meant no offense to either of you, truly. I was of course very emotional when I posted this, and again I apologize for overlooking your feelings.

  3. I think that’s part of what’s so comforting about the gods: their imperfection. I would much rather love a god who knows how emotions, mistakes, jealousies, etc. feel than one who is so…inhuman. The gods are so amazing in every aspect. They never stop surprising me.

    • Indeed, Alyssa. And like us, they may not always deal with situations in the best possible way, sometimes overlooking simple solutions in favor of indulging their desires. But that is also one of the things that helps make them relatable to us. We can understand such motivations. Understanding doesn’t always change things, but at least it’s an understanding. lol

  4. Pingback: Don’t Lower Your Expectations « Bonfire at Midnight

  5. To hopefully minimize the potential for drama on your own blog, I’ve written a reply to this post on mine: http://bonfireatmidnight.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/dont-lower-your-expectations/

  6. Pingback: Les Dieux ne sont pas parfaits ? « Valiel sur la Voie des Dieux