Lesson #2: Don’t Fear Your Beauty

Warning:  Some people may find this to be a rather vacuous post.  *shrugs*

~

For a while now, I’ve donned the veil.  It wasn’t immediately out of religious obligation, but rather out of practicality.  After I began covering, however, I noticed the changes in attitude of those I interacted with, and was extremely pleased to see that I was not being looked over quite so much by random, strange men.  It kind of made me mad to have to cover myself just to receive a modicum of respect, though, since I’ve never been an outwardly flashy person.

I don’t wear make-up most of the time, and I have a very subdued sense of style (if you want to call it that).  I do not enjoy having my bits hanging out all over the place, and I never have. Therefore, I dress modestly, plainly even, in a way that is comfortable for me, and in which I feel safe, and secure in my own power and femininity.  Which has been wonderful, but as you all know, things have changed around here, and I found out pretty quickly that Loki doesn’t like plain.

The first thing He asked of me, before anything else, was for me to beautify myself for Him, in some small way.  I hesitated for a good long while, going back and forth with Apollon about what would be too much, and whether or not I should do it at all.  I was apprehensive, and not just because of my Lord’s opinion.

I seem to attract the worst kind of attention, so the prospect of changing even the slightest thing about my carefully crafted appearance was terribly stressing.  Obviously, fancy hair-styles were out of the question, as were a number of other things.  But, at the end, right when I thought I’d ask Him to stop throwing out suggestions, He smiled and said:

“You could paint your nails red, for me…”

I was stunned by the simplicity of it, for it was perfect, and in a very small, only slightly noticeable way.  Only my human husband questioned the new penchant for color.  He thinks it’s a waste of time, since the paint gets chipped off during the domestic work.  I did too, at first, especially since re-applying the polish every two to three days is tedious and time consuming. But wasn’t that the whole point?  To take the time to make myself look nicer, even if all it did was make me and my gods happy?

Indeed.  That was the whole point.  And, as it turns out, my Lord Apollon has also become quite fond of the ritual, as He has always loved the color red… and me in it.  ‘Twas the first mutual agreement They ever had with one another, in regards to me, and it’s been all uphill from there.  Once They realized They could agree on something

For instance, I’ve begun rearranging my closets, pulling out clothes that I haven’t worn in a long time.  Even a few things which survived the fire all those years ago.  Things that I wore back when Loki and I first met.

I didn’t even realize I still had most of that stuff.  Some of it is truly too outrageous to be worn now, but most of the clothes are just what I needed to spice things up a bit.  It’s been fun getting reacquainted with the part of me that loves adornment and self-decoration.  It’s also been fun finding beautiful, new and colorful (often patterned) ways to cover, while still maintaining my modest ideals.  And I have a very special Trickster to thank for it.  :)

3 responses to “Lesson #2: Don’t Fear Your Beauty

  1. I started covering a couple of months ago, and even though my covering style consists of light silk veils or wide headbands as opposed to full hajib-type styles, I’ve also found that it cuts down on the unwanted attention I get from random men. It is annoying, though, that that’s what it takes to get them to stop seeing me as a potential sex-object.

    I don’t think of myself as dressing modestly, though I suppose I do to some extent (long skirts, and never anything body-hugging or too revealing). I refuse to stop wearing make up, but Odin, my Husband, is fine with this, as He encourages me to present myself well and think of myself as beautiful.

    I like your red nail polish ritual! That is one I would never adopt; I’ve tried it before and lost patience with the constant upkeep, which would not be practical for me now that I spend so much of my time working with wool.

    • Well, personally, I’ve never worn make-up with any regularity, so this isn’t something that I’ve necessarily given up. I also don’t believe anyone should have to give up those things which make them feel beautiful.

      Oh, yes, the nail polish upkeep is tremendous, but the rewards for the effort make it well worth it, for me.

  2. “’Twas the first mutual agreement They ever had with one another, in regards to me, and it’s been all uphill from there. Once They realized They could agree on *something*…”

    Heeheehee! That is quite amusing! ^_^