Poseidon’s In The Pond

It is very telling that even after moving away from my seaside home, that I end up living less than a block away from another body of water, albeit much smaller than the Bay I left.  Lord Poseidon has always loved His offerings, and I guess He wanted to make sure I’d still feel the connection enough to continue.  It is a lovely little pond, fed by a small creek, which eventually winds its way through the town and all of the adjoining public parks.  I’ve had the pleasure of walking along a good portion of the creek, and there is still much to be explored.

There are lots of animals here, too, which I always get a kick out of. Mostly fowl, such as ducks geese and cranes, but there are also plenty of fish and no shortage of turtles.

I’m not exactly sure what it is that Poseidon wants yet, in regards to an offering, so I’ll give Him some wine and ask Him if there is something specific He’s interested in. The naiads have been shy, so far. I can sense/feel them peeking at me when I go out onto the pier, but they have yet to speak to me. I’ll bring them some flowers the next time I’m there. It must be strange for them, for a human to be so interested. I doubt they’ve had much intentional human interaction, but who knows. I’m still in the introductory phase of establishing my place here, so maybe they’ll warm up to me eventually. But, maybe not. It’s their land/pond, after all, and they can tell me to go away.

That is one thing I’d like to clarify for anyone wondering, too. The Land spirits have the final say in all establishments of Territory. A person, Queen or not, does not just barge in on someone else’s home and declare themselves ruler over anything. You actually have to talk to the spirits, or communicate in some other way with them. You must ask permission first, before leaving any more than minor traces of your energy behind. That’s just common sense, not to mention proper hospitality.

Hospitality is very important, and shouldn’t just be relegated to human upon human interactions. If we are saying that we respect the life that already exists in a place before we arrive, then we’d better practice what we preach.

And now, I’ll leave you with some pictures of Poseidon’s pond. Enjoy!

image

image

image

image

6 responses to “Poseidon’s In The Pond

  1. What a beautiful place!
    I’m in a similar boat right now- lol accidental pun- because I also just moved to a new place. The land spirit and I had a wonderful relationship at the old house, but it was time for me to move on from an environment that was, on a human relationship level, toxic. The land spirits here are many and distrustful of people. I made my introductions recently and was greeted with surprise more than anything else. Perhaps they will get used to me in time. Perhaps the spirits where you are will become accustomed to your presence and communicate more clearly. I do wish you a wonderful relationship with your new place and its spirits.

    • I wish you good luck in your new abode, as well. There is always so much upheaval at this time of year. It seems neither you, nor I could escape it. But, as you say, it is for the best. We needn’t remain in toxic situations, when there is so much beauty to be seen and felt, in the world around us.

  2. Wow really pretty! I can just guess how peaceful it is to walk along side it or to simply take it in :) I have a question for anyone that feels like answering really but What do you guys normaly say during offerings? (I don’t mind if nobody answers since it must be personal) I’ve read a bit on this subject enough to guess but having a real life base exemple would be great.

    • When I give an offering, I may first recite one of the ancient hymns appropriate to the god, and/or some original works of poetry, or I may sing a song which I feel is relevant to the god in question. After I begin to feel Their presence, I may offer prayers, then ask for some assistance with a personal issue, if it is relevant to my life at that time. Often, I do not ask for anything in return, as my devotion is mostly for devotion’s sake. Then, I will present the offering or libation, and end with another poem or hymn, and thank the god, as appropriate.

  3. What a beautiful pond!