Illness Happens…

I’m layed up in bed, sick, on the Deipnon, while everyone else takes care of the housework.  I feel utterly useless, at the moment, but at least I get to lay in bed and lament being sick.  There are people who aren’t so lucky, people who still have to drag themselves from beneath warm, cozy comforters to attend to their worldly affairs.  None of that makes me feel any better, though.

I hate illness.  I hate it.  It ruins all my plans.  Yeah, I knew I was pushing it by spending so much time outside in the rain and cool weather.  I knew I’d end up here when I decided to continue an already taxing ritual schedule for well over a week into October.  I knew it all, yet could not stop myself from doing it. This is what you call burn out, ladies and gentlemen.  I’ve finally reached that point.

But, what does this mean for the rest of October, which is in fact an even holier month for me than September?  It means I’ll necessarily need to continue this impromptu break, before I (hopefully) start feeling better (soon).  Then, of course, I’ll need to get back to Work.  The gods will wait only so long, and there are a few things that have been burning holes in my thoughts, trying ever so hard to be released into the wild yonder.  I’ll spend this sick time mulling them over and preparing future posts.

In the meantime, here’s a little something I wrote for Hekate during the Deipnon a while back.  She seemed to like it then, and even though I don’t use it every Deipnon, I do dust it off every once in a while.  Enjoy.

~

Hekate! Bright Hekate! Torch-bearing Queen of the Crossroads! I entreat You, O Mistress Divine, that You may drive out the evil spirits lurking within, and around this, my Oikos! Cast out the defiling poison! Drive away the blot of wretched miasma, with the gnashing of the Hounds’ sharp fangs! O Gloried Goddess! Triple-formed Maiden! Accept this meal as an offering, and as thanks, for the lifting of these spiritual burdens! Accept this meal, prepared by my own hand, entreated with love and care! Accept this meal, and this libation, for they are the evidence of the gods’ bounty, offered back in awe and reverence, to You, Dear Hekate! Guide of Souls! Honored in Earth, Sea and Heaven!

2 responses to “Illness Happens…

  1. I am suddenly *struck* by the similarity of Her primary symbols with some of my Lord Father’s…. beautiful prose, by the way. And I hope you feel better very soon!

  2. seastruckbythecrossroads

    I am sorry you are sick, but that ‘s one eloquent prayer, brava!