A Will Not Her Own

Crown with pink pearls

The Queen acts not from the root of ego, for her will is not merely hers. Instead, she embodies the collective will of those Whom she serves.  Even the royal form is not her own, for it is made to house the power of the Crown.

A vessel, to be filled, and to be channeled through, she is.  Joining Heaven and Earth by the Holy Powers’ whim.  And if she would dare to flee, those same Holy Powers will bring her to her knees.

There is no choice; some must don the purple, or they must die.  But the Fates only know whether death comes quick, or from lingering time.  A Queen is a servant, above all else, and must serve to the fullest to preserve her good health.

Her health is the nation’s, whatever it may be, whether consisting of small spirits, or unknown Divinities.  Yes, a Court has been formed, and around her they sit, for although fear delayed her, she was never unfit.

They speak not of riches, or jewels found in the Earth.  Such trappings and adornments are not a Queen’s worth.  Judge her by deed, and accomplishments toiled, for these alone are the measure of royals.

And in its due time, the Court will expand, from its mysterious heart onto physical land.  By a will not her own, the Queen will press on, pouring praise and due deference out to the Gods.

Therefore, may the Holy Powers be wholly pleased, for she has accepted this Work and the joy it may bring.  But, there is also the hard seclusion of the Throne, for the royal authority is hers alone.

And there lay the truth, the one thing which is hers; all the many consequences of her words.  For, what is a Queen if not a mouthpiece and a clarion?  Who is she, if not her own subjects’ heroine?

This gift of loyalty must be loyally returned.  So, let hearts not waver, nor let love be spurned.  And, let it be known that the Queen has arrived, at last, to the place where the dragon dies.

9 responses to “A Will Not Her Own

  1. Gorgeous, and thank you for posting this. Sometimes this path is hard to articulate, and you’ve done it beautifully here. <3

  2. kajanamullein

    A wonderful article, Columbine, thank you for sharing your thoughts. They correspond intensely with the lessons I had to learn recently on my path with Heimdall, and I have to admit it’s not easy for me. I agree with Heather, you put in in words just perfectly.

    • I’m not sure why I had to write this, but I did. I think I just needed to get it all out, for myself, and it was written entirely to relate my relationship with Apollon, and the spirits around me. So, it is really surprising that so many others can relate so strongly to it. What a path this is, but I appreciate that I’m not the only one on it.

  3. I didn’t have a chance to comment when you first posted this, but YES. And especially this part:

    And if she would dare to flee, those same Holy Powers will bring her to her knees.

    When I first took my oaths of sacred queenship, I was warned by Odin that from that point onward I was not simply answerable to Him alone, but to all of Them, and that if I attempted to set down my responsibilities They would come after me. I found out this past year how very true that was. It’s a mistake I won’t be making again!

    • OMG, I just had the same realization not even a month ago. It’s not just about me and Apollon anymore. There are plenty of others now who have a stake in this whole affair. They’re pretty bossy, too.