Relinquish Control

Humans like to pretend that we are in control; control of ourselves, our actions, our words, our thoughts, our desires, etc.  But, how could we ever really be?  Each of us, though intrinsically a part of this Universe, are universes unto ourselves, simply by the nature of our existence.

Everything that we see, hear, feel, smell or taste is an illusion. We live in a phantom world, constructed by our expectations. All that we experience is done through the human filter.  We have eyes that can see only a tiny portion of the light spectrum.  Only that which is illuminated by visible light may be known, and yet, so much exists that is beyond our knowing. (Yes, I realize that we have scientific instruments and theory, which give us cause for speculation, but so much theory has yet to be satisfactorily proven. And I mean proven by fact, not more theory.)

There are forces pulling and pushing on our realities, each one shaping us and our individual destinies. Each, as invisible as the air, but just as real, just as vital to our survival. And we will never understand just how full our worlds are with things we do not know. Yet, do we long for control.

Control of the type that humans so covet can only be gained through foresight, which we are quite lacking in, collectively. Like little children, we throw tantrums when events do not play out as we envisioned. As if we could foresee all variables in a situation, we become distressed when these limitations are revealed. However, we need not become so distraught, for the Gods exist, and it is They who control the Kosmos.

We must do as the Gods bid us. We must not back away from the paths They choose for us, out of fear. If humans were left alone to act on our own whims constantly, we would destroy all that we have ever known, for fear of what we do not.

This fragile world lives precariously in the hands of the Gods. They hold us, sometimes gently, sometimes roughly, but They hold us. So, relinquish all control, for we never had any to begin with. This awful clinging only serves to prolong the slow death of ego. It is the whole, collective and hubristic ego of humanity which needs to die, and that death may only be accomplished through the smaller deaths within each of us. To do that, we must give our lives away, while remembering that a gift, once given, is no longer ours.

The Gods have shaped this world, and yes, we have also made our mark. But what we have done is more of a reaction to that which can not be controled. The world is a chaotic environment. No matter how we attempt to bring this chaos to order, we will forever be lost in the fog of human understanding. Even as we manage to pull the veil over our own eyes, the Gods look down, some with laughter, some with pity. But, They have not yet gone away from us, despite our youth and impetuousness. Let us embrace Them, totally. Let us walk down the roads paved by the grace of the Gods.

I have believed, for a long while now, that it is the role of the Gods to construct the important and elaborate plans, while humans on the other hand, are simply to act upon them when the time is right. There are few things that our species does better than act. It is the will and intent behind our actions which makes the difference. And if we have relinquished all control, as we should, we can trust that the Divine Intent is more in tune with the needs of all the world, and not simply our own.

8 responses to “Relinquish Control

  1. We must do as the Gods bid us. We must not back away from the paths They choose for us, out of fear. If humans were left alone to act on our own whims constantly, we would destroy all that we have ever known, for fear of what we do not.

    This speaks to me …..

  2. seastruckbythecrossroads

    ‘This fragile world lives precariously in the hands of the Gods. They hold us, sometimes gently, sometimes roughly, but They hold us. So, relinquish all control, for we never had any to begin with.’

    Just beautiful and it touches a very important point. Also, you just gave me an idea for my C-themed PBP entry. There’s a trend lately among pagan about confusing the relinquishing of control with the having no agency. Like if submitting to gods’will in some accounts makes us weaker, or slaves. Like the one choice is between fighting what the gods ask (or even the fact they ask for things to begin) and being a puppet and only that. There’s a very marked difference between recognizing that your human perspective is limited enough that sometimes you have to concede to divine agency and having no boundaries of yours, no personal power or autonomy.

    • *applauds* Yes. It’s about knowing when to step back and cede authority, and when to assert your own. The Gods don’t want spineless followers, but They do want ones with discrimination, and knowing when to defer is definitely part of that discrimination.

      • It’s not something that comes easily for some. Although Apollon has been taking the lead with me since January of last year, I had to work on releasing that troublesome “need to know everything” attitude. The truth is you don’t need to know. Knowing too much of what is expected, or of what is on the horizon causes stress and fear and spiritual backpedaling, none of which are acceptable to me anymore. When we can let go of trying to construct our Paths from our own small desires, we often discover that the true Path is more full of life and holiness than we could have imagined.

    • Has that really been going aroung again? I wouldn’t know, because recently I’ve been given the directive to remain as detached from the pagan blogospere as possible. I’ve only read a couple of pagan blogs in the last month or so. Bleh… I’m glad I’m missing this debate, and you’re a better witch than I for confronting it head-on in your own post on control. I haven’t got the time, or the inclination. :P

      • seastruckbythecrossroads

        Mhe, let’s say it comes up occasionally … more in forum discussions than the blogsphere and I am afraid I am getting bitchier as the age edges on because lately I just have not the patience to put energy in that sort of discussions. Iam not sure that post of mine centered the goal but at least i scratched that intellectual hitch and i’ll hopefully move on.

  3. This is extremely timely for me to read, so I thank you. Every time I’ve decided I’ve surrendered my fears, I realize they are causing me once more to drag my feet a bit. If I have completely trust in my gods — and in their right to destroy me, should that be needed — then why is there fear?

  4. Worrying so much and trying to gain control of everything is what screwed me over completely. I’ve been stagnant for months, it feels like. I think it’s all because I couldn’t give up control, even though I’m totally clueless at what to do. Once I gave up control (actually just this week! I’m a slow learner. ;)) everything becomes so much more effortless. It flows. I know what’s expected of me, I do what they want me to do, and in return, I’m not a hot mess. I actually begin to learn.