New Mythic Interpretations?

So, I’ve had my mind on the birth and origin of Hephaistos, off and on.  I can remember, as a child, reading a version of the myth that I’ve never been able to find again. As far as I know, it could have only been my imagination, or it could have been written from a modern feminist perspective, which might explain some of the altered themes in the version I remember reading.

I’m really reluctant to go over the details of the myth, because it’s so different from the official versions.  I’d actually decided a few months back, the last time this myth got stuck in my head, that it was all just me remembering it wrong.  So, I tried to drop it.  But, I guess that’s not what Hera wanted, because She won’t allow me to forget it.

Why am I being given an alternative version of such a well-known myth? Granted, when I piece it all together with the information from the official versions, the relationships between Hera, Zeus and Hephaistos seem a lot more fleshed out and realistic.  I don’t know.  I don’t know if I should go with it, or reject it.

That’s the thing about UPG (doxa).  It may or may not be what we humans would consider “real”, and it may or may not be personally useful.  However, since this one’s stuck around with me all these years, I’m a lot more inclined to go with it and see where it leads.

I’ve discussed it with Zeus, and He neither confirmed or denied it.  I wonder if He doesn’t want this version to become common, since it’s not all that flattering of Him. But then, a lot of myths aren’t that flattering– of Anyone.  Of course, I don’t take the myths too literally anyway, so maybe this isn’t as big a deal as it seems.  We’ll see.

This isn’t the only myth that’s been spun a different way in my memory, but with the others, I’m still looking for existing versions, or wading through previous research.  The origin of Hephaistos is the only one for which I’ve almost made up my mind.  Almost.

There are many local versions of certain myths, and many differing interpretations, so I don’t believe the Gods are static Beings.  Nor do I believe They want Their myths to remain static.  After all, don’t the myths express aspects of society that can be, and often are, overlooked elsewhere?  If that’s the case, I wonder just what this newer version says about me, about my culture, and about my perspective within this culture.

Questions, questions…

8 responses to “New Mythic Interpretations?

  1. Alexis Solvey Viorsdottir

    what does the myth (that you remeber) say? what is so different from the usual known version?

    • Mostly minor details. The big difference I remember is Zeus being the one to throw Hephaistos from Olympos. This, as far as I’ve been able to find, is not common among any version I’ve read as an adult. Raises interesting questions for me.

    • I suppose the other differences aren’t that minor, but I don’t want to open myself up to the research police by discussing them here.

  2. I don’t have answers, other than: I love myths, old and new. There are myths that I hold as foundations to my spiritual practice, but none in such a way that if they change at all they threaten that practice. There are some that I take as literal, except there’s always the caveat that they might be literal somewhere and completely metaphorical in other places/layers/etc. The division of the realms between Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades, for example. Pretty big deal, pretty foundational, one might argue, and Poseidon is so very much Lord of the Waters for me. But also, I doubt its that cut and dry (hehehehe dry I so funny), and then I’ve got my weird Zeus and Poseidon and Hades overlap thing anyway.

    Because I love stories, because I love the stories that we can tell, that we are inspired to share, because I love new myths or old myths rewritten, I want to hear this version. I think folks who are threatened by the gods having new myths or new versions of myths are . . . I want to say sad, but maybe that’s not fair. *I* feel sad thinking about hearing a new story and being anything other than curious, inspired, and excited about it. But then, I’m a storyteller, so I would.

    • You and I share a similar perspective on the nuances of myth, and the thick overlay of Gods and Their domains. Like you, for me, some are literal, some not so much, but those myths that aren’t literal for me may still be literal for someone else. Existence is more fluid than solid, and that goes both for information perceived and unperceived. Perhaps I’ll type it up one of these days, and we can see if anyone else has had similar leanings with this myth.

      • Existence is more fluid than solid, and that goes both for information perceived and unperceived

        Yes, this. And, I really do hope you’ll type it up one of these days and share, even if in a more private setting — so long as I can see it ;)

  3. I tend to read myths as being the culture’s explanation for the way certain personified forces interact. This means that in my world they are metaphors but also true…. yay for thinking on multiple levels at one time? I’d be very interested in hearing your interpretation of this relationship.

  4. Reblogged this on roxannecg and commented:
    Believe the gods