Over the November Horizon

__The_Pythia___by_Chimeria

“I give first place of honor in my prayer to her
who of the Gods first prophesied, the Earth; and next
to Themis, who succeeded to her mother’s place
of prophecy; so runs the legend; and in third
succession, given by free consent, not won by force,
another Titan daughter of Earth was seated here.
This was Phoebe. She gave it as birthday gift
to Phoebus, who is called still after Pheobe’s name.
And he, leaving the pond of Delos and the reef,
grounded his ship at the roadstead of Pallas, then
made his way to this land and a Parnassian home.
Deep in respect for his degree Hephaestus’ sons
conveyed him here, for these are builders of roads, and changed
the wilderness to a land that was no wilderness.
He came so, and the people highly honored him,
with Delphus, lord and helmsman of the country. Zeus
made his mind full with Godship and prophetic craft
and placed him, fourth in a line of seers, upon this throne.
So, Loxias is the spokesman of his father, Zeus.”

The Pythia  —  Eumenides

altar_sacrifice

For it is right that first praise go to Those, in the line of succession, Who made it possible for the Will of the Gods to be translated into human tongues, thus do I, Columbine, daughter of Zeus, bow in succession to Them.

Gaea, Great-Grandmother; the hard, round Earth, Who opens Her Mouth and all things tremble in silence.  Now, to Themis, Who is Tradition and Law, do I speak. Next, to Phoebe, I call out in awe and appreciation for the gift of Her illuminating speech.

But, even These are not the Ones for whom I have come, this day.  My heart– my soul, ache to pay homage to those who were as close to our Lord as any mortal could be.  It is for the Blessed Pythias to receive what is theirs, if they will it.

Pythia1-444x1024

To these do I give the first honors of the year, freshly dawned over the November horizon; the women of Apollon, who bore His heavy and burdensome Voice for all who dared to seek for Him, in the shadow of Mount Parnassos.

Choked_Pythia_by_ZigguratArtwork

To them who gave up their lives and bodies to the God, I express my deepest thanks, for their knowledge flows deep and pure, like a whirlpool, awaiting only the many impatient seekers on His harrowed path.

Pythia_by_CaliburnSword

So, receive what is yours, Dear Ones!  In the new light, of the New Year, I bask in the heat of His pride for you!  Your splendor and radiance pour forth into this world from beyond the Veil, presenting all with the opportunity to witness the result of His Masterful Touch!

Hail to you, Blessed Pythias, who are, above all things, His!  Even now, as the sublime newness of the year delights you with gifts of purpose, and vanity, also, for you are worthy of all which is desired of me, and my Sisters, whose time approaches!

Hail to you, and be welcome in my heart and home for as long as it pleases you to stay!  In this place and time, you are honored, respected and revered!  And I humbly ask you to take the many seats at this table, which were always meant for dragons, and gentle maids!

~

[All works of art belong to their respective artists/owners, which if you haven’t guessed, isn’t me.]

Comments are closed.