Glamour and Concealment

All of these findings are based entirely on my own continuously evolving research and experiments.  This is a subject that, for whatever reason, has become important for me to develop an understanding of.  I have done everything that I’ll discuss today.

~

1.)  Fabric Veiling
This, I have done the most frequently and consistently.  I’ve veiled for several years, and I do it for a few reasons, although, as the year in this new(ish) location has gone by (along with other Things which occurred, and continue to occur simultaneously), my reason for covering has shifted to specifically taming my own energy.

This self-discipline is of benefit not only to myself, but to the world at large.  It helps me to move smoothly in this world of people who would be otherwise disturbed, or frightened, by the intensity surrounding me.  But it isn’t just the covering that enables the energy to be tamed.  Often, the color/pattern and texture of the fabric can come into play on a given day, depending on how much coverage/concealment is needed.  Colors carry their own vibrations, and oftentimes it is best to ride a current, rather than swim against it.

For example: when I’m angry, I sometimes wear orange or red.  These fiery colors assist in the burning off of the charged emotion.  Once enough of my energy has been focused into color, and/or pattern, I can remove the veil and put on a different one.  The next will be of a cooler color, such as blue or perhaps even white.  This helps to train the remaining energy to take on a calming presence.  Of course, my scarves are blessed for these and other purposes, so they already know what to do when I put them on.

One may also choose to veil for the sake of invisibility, as I used to do when I would go out in public.  My charge is no longer to appear invisible, but rather to be seen in a far off, distant and ornamental sense.  For this purpose, the traditional covering route is obvious, however, I also have the option of covering with a wig, instead.

2.) Veiling with Wigs
The wig itself can be the cover, for in this instance the cover is for the crown chakra, as opposed to the hair itself.  This of course works better when you have very short hair (or none at all).  Normally, the natural hair would hold in personal energy, an depending upon how it is styled, the energy may leak, or otherwise be lost.  A wig, when properly blessed or “activated” in a magical sense, may act as the natural hair, thus holding in energy.  Again, color may play a role here, as there are a variety of both natural and non-natural colors, which can be utilized for any situation or need.

3.) Braiding
This can be done with the natural hair, as well as in tandem with a wig.  Braiding is an alternate way to bind in your energy.  Braiding is also effective in programming specific currents of energy to flow in and around you.  The key is to infuse the braid with your intent during styling, and to seal it in.

4.)  Dyeing of the Hair
Another common way of covering without any outward or obvious sign (especially when it matches one’s natural hair), is to use hair color techniques.  Dye, when infused with intent, may seal in certain energetic qualities that you may desire.  It can also seal in personal power, though it does not seem quite as effective as braiding, or fabric, for that purpose.

5.)  Ornamentation
Just about anything you can get to stay in your hair, on attached to your veil, can be utilized as an energetic aid, or other kind of talisman.  You are limited only by your imagination.  Of course, I wouldn’t choose just anything. Knowledge of various simple magics can be put to good use here.

6.)  Glamour
And here is where all of the aforementioned covering techniques can be brought together in harmony.  There are no rules for covered Polytheists/Pagans.  There is not a certain way that we are expected to wear our veils.  Though tradition may be behind our decisions to veil, we are not necessarily bound by these traditions.

Be creative.  Experiment.  Do not allow the cloth on your head to dictate what you ought to look like, or act like.  Do not allow the opinions of other humans to distract you from your goal, whatever it may be.  Because veiling is very much a goal-oriented practice.  It helps us to focus our energy in the directions we need for it to go.  It helps to separate out those distractions which keep our attention occupied by meaningless things.

Veiling, or covering in more non-traditional ways, is not limited to the modest and the reserved.  As I mentioned above, glamour is a technique which can pull all of these together, if desired.

There are those who dress themselves for life’s daily struggle in far more meticulous ways than most.  When I woman dons a power-suit for her high level executive position, with her strikingly colored face and heels, no one wonders what she’s doing it for.  If you want to dress like the Queen (or King) that you are, do so, and charge your glamour with the intent to achieve your goals.  Even just a short affirmation while doing nothing more than brushing your hair in the morning, can begin the process of changing one’s attitude toward self and beauty.

This is because glamour and concealment are two sides of the same coin.  They both deal in the handling of personal power.  One technique is about tamping it down, while the other is about building it up.  Nothing is quite so hard and fast as that, but it’s as close a description as I think I’m able to give.  But, there is nothing that says you must fall on one end of the spectrum and not the other.  I am comfortable resting somewhere between both, yet decidedly on the more modest end of things.  Your mileage may vary, as well it should.

************

I saw this yesterday and thought it was really beautiful.  It fits in well with the theme of this post, also.  So, enjoy.  :)  [edited 12/3/2013]

2 responses to “Glamour and Concealment

  1. Alexis Solvey Viorsdottir

    Hat dies auf Geschichten einer urbanen Priesterin rebloggt und kommentierte:
    at the moment I have nothing to add on this but is good! Perhaps… later… in German lol. I’m dealing with this issue since the beginning of this years, so it’s important for me too. But at the moment I’m still searching the best way for me to deal with it.

  2. This is a great, great post. As you already know, I veil with fabric, and for the longest time, I didn’t treat it any more specially than plopping the fabric on my head and going on with my day. Which was sort of silly, considering that I began covering at Poseidon’s request, so it had, from the beginning, an opportunity to be a religious activity — the donning and the taking off of the veil. I finally did start doing that, and smudging them somewhat regularly, and ceased insisting that I know the one reason WHY he wanted me to start in the first place. Modesty as a place to be coming from (so, less about clothing itself and more about one’s mindset) has become a thing, but that’s more about . . . gauging the appropriateness of behavior and thoughts and carriage in any particular instance, and less about what one is wearing, even though I prefer full coverage.

    I love the inclusion of different ways of veiling here — I don’t know that I’ve seen many other pagans talking about anything beyond fabric of some sort, and the variety available is great! Personally, I prefer the lowest maintenance options, so fabric it is, but that’s not the way for everyone. Love this post!