Charge of the Goddess for Hellenic Wiccans

This is going to be an odd post for this blog.  I never actually thought I’d be posting this publicly, but my Gods have decided otherwise.  Though I have not been involved with Wicca for several years now, I still find solace in the Charge of the Goddess.  Of course, I reworked sections of the first half of the Charge to suit my needs, but it hasn’t been altered that much.

So, for whatever reason, I’ve been Told to share it with you.  There are so many versions, after all.  I do not claim that mine is special or even unique, but it certainly brings me peace when read, even now.  So, here it is, the Charge of the Goddess, as expressed by a Hard Polytheist Hellenic (then) Wiccan. May She Who Is guide all who come looking for Her to the places where they belong.

And actually, after spending a night thinking about it, it does make sense that I would post this today, with it being Mother’s Day.  What better way to show my appreciation to the Great Mother?  I may not be Wiccan anymore, but Her lessons are real, and they will stay with me for the rest of my days.  So, Happy Mother’s Day to those who celebrate, whether for themselves, a family member, or a Goddess.  May all mothers be honored this day.

~

Listen to the Words of the Great Mother, Who is Eldest and Wisest of All:

At the Holy Altars the youth of Lacedaemon of Sparta and the descendants of Aeneas gave love, and made due sacrifice.  They called the names of My Beloved Daughters: “Rhea! Hekate! Aphrodite! Hestia! Demeter! Hera! Artemis! Athena!” And the many Others, welcoming Them, and My Spirit to their rites.

Whenever ye have need of anything, once in the month, and better it be when the Moon is Full, then shall ye gather in some secret place to adore the Spirit of Me, Who am Queen of All. There shall ye assemble, ye who are fain to learn all Wisdom, yet have not won its deepest Mysteries. To these will I teach things that are as yet unknown.

And ye shall be free from slavery; and as a sign that ye be truly free, ye shall be naked in your rites, or sheathed pleasingly by your true devotion. And ye will dance, sing, feast, make music and love, all in My praise. For Mine is the ecstasy of Spirit, and Mine also is joy on Earth; for My Law is Love unto all beings.

Keep pure your Highest Ideal; strive ever toward it; let naught stop you or turn you aside. For Mine is the Secret Gate which opens upon the Land of Elysium; and Mine is the Vessel of the Wine of Dionysos; and the Flame of Hestia, which are both the sacral and purified essence of immortality.

I am the Gracious Goddess Who gives the gift of joy unto the heart of man. On Earth, I give the knowledge of Spirit Eternal; and beyond death, I give peace, and freedom, and reunion with those who have gone before. Nor do I demand sacrifice, for behold: I am the Mother of All Living, and My Love is poured out upon the Earth.

Hear ye the Words of the Star Goddess. She in the dust of Whose feet are the Hosts of Heaven, Whose Body encircles the Universe.

I, Who am the Beauty of the Green Earth, and the White Moon amongst the Stars, and the Mystery of the Waters, and the Desire of the heart of man– call unto thy soul: Arise! And come unto Me!

For I am the Soul of Nature Who gives Life to the Universe! From Me all things proceed, and unto Me all things must return. And before My Face, beloved of Gods and men, thine innermost Divine Self shall be enfolded in the Rapture of the Infinite.

Let My Worship be within the heart that rejoices, for behold: all acts of love and pleasure are My rituals. Therefore let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and humility, mirth and reverence within you.

And thou who thinkest to seek for Me, know thy seeking and yearning shall avail thee not, unless thou knowest the Mystery: for if that which thou seekest thou findest not within, thou will never find it without.

For behold, I have been with thee from the beginning; and I am That which is attained at the end of Desire.

Blessed Be.

5 responses to “Charge of the Goddess for Hellenic Wiccans

  1. Reblogged this on Loki's Bruid and commented:
    Not ashamed of my more Wiccan roots, so Hail to the Great Mother!

  2. Reblogged this on Wytch of the North and commented:
    This is beautiful!!

  3. Reblogged this on Mirth and Mantle and commented:
    I’ll be the first person to admit that I’m not the biggest fan of Wicca but this is just beautiful. An interesting twist to such an interesting poem.

  4. This is gorgeous!

    I’m finding, as I stumble upon more Wiccan-inspired stuff via the Season of the Seeker course I’m participating in, that much of it is inspiring and intriguing. A decade ago, the Charge of the Goddess, in any if its forms, would have been met with a “meh” from me, but even the more traditional ones are touching me in unanticipated ways.

    This, though. This is beautiful. This is beautiful in a I want to copy it down into one of my journal books and keep it. I’m so glad you’ve shared it.

    • You know, it is very surprising to me how much people seem to be liking this version. I’ve been sitting on it for years, just wondering if it, and some of my other Wiccan work/writings, will ever be used again. Since I am no longer Wiccan, I will not be teaching Wicca. Sharing what I have learned will have to be through this blog alone, and I am happily surprised to find that there are some who appreciate it. :)