His Lantern

[Originally posted here at the Treasury of Apollon’s blog, October 2, 2014]

~

I hold His fire, I tend His glimmering flame

He keeps me near Him, bound by love and pain

To be a lantern, delivering His light

To shine, relentless through Winter’s long nights

 

He speaks of many things, in my wafting presence

I will keep His secrets, while He tours the Heavens

And in our contemplation of the nearness of our souls

We revel in the future, which only He may know

 

Oh, how He darkly shines, a contradiction most Divine

Prince and King in one is He, ascending toward His faculty

The throne awaits Him; only knowledge will sate Him

Watching and learning, He plans, and soon will play His hand

 

And while He attends the business of Gods

I, His lantern, shall herald His cause

Through the cold, and the dark, and the fearful season

I will carry His spark, and thus shall I please Him

 

I glow with His light, for I am His lantern

He keeps me close, and vows not to abandon

The love that is ours, and the hopes that we share

For the Light of the World is beyond all compare

Comments are closed.