Prostateria: Born Between the Rivers

Today is the celebration of Apollon’s birth in the Boeotian and Delphic traditions.  In the Boeotian tradition it takes it’s name from Apollon Prostaterios, the Lord before the doors, who ushers in the newness of things, and it is said that He was born on a small island near Thebes, between two rivers, during the lambing season, as Lykeia has touched upon in her own article today.

This event has a special place in my worship of Him, if simply because of where I happen to live.  My house sits at the edge of a bay which is fed by two nearby rivers.  And yes, we live between those rivers.

I awoke this morning with the intense feeling of Apollon watching over me. This is not altogether unusual, especially considering the day.  However, there was a pressing need for me to do something that I had yet not done in all the times I have celebrated His birth, and after a little bit more mental prodding from Him, I walked the single block which separates my land from the bay, and went out onto the long pier.

Gazing out into the water, which was sparkling in the Sunlight and crystal clear, I could hear Him whispering to me to complete the task He had sent me for.  So, after honoring Him a bit more, I went down the stairs onto the little platform that I see the fishermen using, occasionally.  Down there I was closer to the water, which was my goal.

I had brought with me a small container that I had previously used to carry khernips.  It was empty and I was told to fill it with the moving waters of the bay, on this particular day, in which the liminal and purifying qualities of the rivers would be enhanced.

I had to climb down the ladder to the very bottom rung and stretch myself down even further, risking a splash into the cold and shallow water, in order to fill the container.  Afterward, when I had climbed back up, I offered a bit of honey, first to Apollon, and then to Poseidon and Amphitrite for allowing me to partake of their waters.

I am Told by my Lord that this water will become an ingredient in our home-temple’s new purification formula, which Apollon is slowly revealing to me.  It certainly makes sense, for the sea is a potent purifier.

After that romp in the Sun, I went home and honored Him further before my shrines, and the pleasure with which I was received has stayed with me throughout the day, and especially while I prepared our simple feast of baked chicken, corn, cranberry sauce, and homemade bread.  Later, while the household sleeps, I will complete my worship of Him for this honorable day, by dancing for Him and stomping my feet to reawaken the land.  Only then will I retire to my bed, and to the dreams of Him that shall surely come.

May He be pleased by all of the devotion He receives this day/night, from all of the people who love, cherish and honor Him.  Hail to our Lord, Apollon on this day of His birth.

3 responses to “Prostateria: Born Between the Rivers

  1. I didn’t know you had celebrated this festival before previously :) And I see you like the idea of stomping feet to awaken the land *grin*. I do it every year for him…both at his Boeotian birthday and at his return.

    • Yes, I have but I never really wanted to talk about it before, I guess because I was more directly inspired by Him and wasn’t familiar enough with the historical context. LOL And, oh yes the stomping! It is something I have also done for Him during my Solar Spring season leading up to His Return. :)