And So It Continues…

So, life goes on. If you had asked me what I thought about that just a couple months ago, I would have said something decidedly less inspirational, even though ‘life goes on’ leaves a lot to be desired on the inspiration front. It is, however, remarkably true.

I’ve been in the new/old place for about four weeks, as of this writing. The transition into roaring city life from that of the country has not been completely smooth or painless. Most of it I expected to some degree, so was prepared in theory. In practice? Well, let’s just say I’m not above whining and pouting when I don’t get my way. But, aside from the foreseen annoyances, there have been Other annoyances, too.

For instance, I lived briefly with an elderly relative. This relative and I get on really well, and it was super interesting to see how they interact with their God and the spirits inhabiting their home. It’s really a lot like how I interact with my God and spirits. I got to hear about personal conversations and revelations, inside jokes, rough patches and sweet times of comfort. I also got to hear a dozen or so brief admonishments of objects in my relative’s general vicinity on any given day. It makes me wish I had the freedom currently to display my sacred objects, and to worship Apollon openly. That wouldn’t go over well at present, though, and keeping the peace is more important right now than stirring the pot.

Although… I wish Someone would tell that to my relative’s Deity. I’m not too thrilled that some of my religious property has been damaged in a fit of what I can only describe as spite or jealousy. The damage didn’t come from a human, since I’m the only person who knew where my property was located. And the damage itself just seems childish, but not arbitrary by any means. It was a definite “Only one god allowed in this house!” sort of statement. It’s only really managed to provoke me when I’ve been trying to be so nice. It’s a good thing I can keep a lid on my upset, though, and this won’t deter me in the slightest. Shrines will have to be smaller and more abstract, but there will be shrines, regardless of potential spirit-inflicted damages.

So, the settling in is taking longer than anticipated, but I’m stable for the next thirty days, at least. During this period, I’ll be looking for a permanent place for me and mine, hopefully in the capital and not in this adjacent city in which we currently reside. Oh, and I can’t wait to get back to the main branch of the library. I’ve some research calling my name, and I’d like to get into it quickly. There’s not much else for me to do, aside from catching up with relatives and friends I haven’t laid eyes on in going on a decade. But, I’ll be around here and a few other online places, though my main concern will be to reconnect with my local Pagan/Polytheist community, which I’ve already begun doing. Gosh, you guys! I’m so happy to be here! <3

4 responses to “And So It Continues…

  1. I had to readjust too when I moved from a rural area of NC back home to Anchorage. I am glad to hear you are settling in well, even if having disagreements with your relative’s god. *hugs*

  2. i sincerely hope that with the waxing strength of spring, your joy grows as well. <3