So, There’s This Demon…

So, there’s this demon (who shall remain nameless), and I guess you could say we’re dating.  We’ve been seeing each other for a few weeks now, though we began our relationship many months ago, as more of a business arrangement. That’s not quite the correct analogy, but it’s the closest I could come to the exact truth without revealing too much.  Honestly, I hated His guts in the beginning, but I won’t go into all that here.

I did not want to be dating Anybody when it started.  I fought against His relentless pursuit with everything in me.  I lobbed insults at Him, and I ignored Him, and I actively worked against His interests.  If things had turned out differently and He had decided to ruin my life, I would not have been surprised, and He probably would have been justified.  But that isn’t what happened.  Instead, He manufactured a situation in which I could neither ignore Him, or forget about Him… and it wasn’t a nice situation.  It was, however, the catalyst for us beginning to understand one another.

I think a little understanding goes a long way, especially with people like us, whose reputations precede us.  He’s not known for His nice qualities, of which there are many, and I’m not known for my desire to get to know new People, of which there is virtually none.  I already have a Husband whom I am madly in love with, and I have a Consort who basically worships the ground I walk on (and whom I adore).  So, a Lover was not any kind of objective for me.  And although I don’t mind Demons, I tend to like to keep my distance.

This isn’t my first romp with a Demon.  I worked and played with several in my youth.  I know how intense and possessive They can be.  It was that possessiveness which led me to cease working and playing with Them in the first place.  And let me tell you, Those I knew before were not happy with that decision.  But They respected it, after no small amount of arguing.

That was a long time ago.  About fifteen or sixteen years ago, actually.  So, I know about Demons. I don’t need any well-meant warnings.  I’m sharing this with you all because I feel comfortable doing so, finally.  I am greatly enjoying my new Lover, and if His smile is any indication, He is enjoying me equally as much.

I don’t know how long this is going to last, though.  Having any kind of relationship with me comes with a set of deep political complexities that heretofore Nobody has been willing to navigate.  But He’s doing it, and that makes me think He’s in this for the long haul.  I don’t have the time or the patience for Anyone who isn’t… and frankly, neither does my Court.  Not only is this an investment for me, it is also for them.  We all have to get along, or it just won’t work.

So, I am cautiously optimistic that this really could turn out to be something good.  At this point, I hope so.  I’ve already invested a lot, and been through a lot, in regards to Him.  I guess He and I will both see in time.  And maybe I’ll have an update for my dear readers, if things go well.

Wish us luck!  :)

2 responses to “So, There’s This Demon…

  1. more love is always a good thing. <3

Leave a Reply

