Gratitude Project 2017, Day 11 – Artemis

Artemis.  Artemis and I have a rocky (to put it mildly) acquaintance.  I can’t even call it a real relationship.  Of the Theoi I have met, She is the only one who really, truly terrifies me.  I don’t know why.  I suspect it is because She doesn’t particularly care for me.  I’m not sure what I did to get on Her bad side, but nevertheless, that is where I find myself.  I mean, She isn’t cruel or anything. She’s just… well… unconcerned?  It’s not like She hasn’t ever answer my prayers, because She has.  Probably just doing Her job.  And it isn’t as though I haven’t ever worked with Her in the sphere of Her domain.  I have, and we have worked well together, when it’s just business.  But, try as I might (and I’ll admit I probably haven’t tried hard enough) , I can not seem to translate our working relationship into a reverent one.

I typically make an attempt every couple of years.  I’ll write something for Her, or do a ritual for Her, and She will accept the gift or attend the ritual, but again, it feels like She’s doing it because She takes Her job seriously.  Maybe that’s all it is.  Maybe I’m just plain intimidated and She isn’t really trying to be hostile.  I mean, She’s not exactly hostile, but perhaps I’m just used to a certain amount of warmth from the Theoi?  Warmth that Artemis isn’t the slightest bit interested in showing me.  That might never change, but I think I need to maybe try to be more specifically welcoming toward Her in my household.

On an intellectual level, I know She is Apollon’s other half, and that the Twins are best honored together in at least some capacity.  In practice, however, I’ve fallen majorly short.  On Apollon’s festivals, I make a point to include Artemis, but I can’t say I’ve ever celebrated one of Her festivals, save for the first day of Thargelia, but I don’t think that one counts.  Not long ago, I was given some divination from one of my Treasury Sisters, telling me that I really need to start paying honor to Artemis, among a few Others.  Since then, I’ve done a few little things, but not enough.  I’m just not sure how to approach it, or how to approach Her, most of all.  I suppose this post today is another attempt to approach Her, perhaps to let Her know that I know that I should be doing better?

So, here’s to Artemis, She who hunts, She who forces me outside of what I find comfortable.  And that there might very well be the point.  When was the last time I did something uncomfortable for the sake of improving or deepening my practice?  If I can’t think of an event (which, I can not), then it’s been too long. There are lessons for me to learn that Apollon can’t teach.  There are perspectives that I have not yet been made aware of.  I guess I need to suck it up and be grateful that She is willing to do that bit of business with me.  But boy, is it going to be awkward.

#GratitudeProject2017

5 responses to “Gratitude Project 2017, Day 11 – Artemis

  1. As one of Artemis’ people, I have the same kind of stuck not-really-a-relationship with Apollon. It’s one reason I follow your blog, actually, to try and see him through different eyes, and maybe, hopefully, come to a better understanding. So, I empathise and wish you the best of luck in your endeavours.

    • Thank you, and while I’m not glad that you have the same kind of thing going on with Apollon, it is nice to know somebody can empathize and understand. I hope my blog helps a little. I try to not only write about the good things, but the difficult and frustrating things, too. After all, He is a difficult God, and I understand how He can be off-putting to those who aren’t His.

      • It does. I’m starting to get a window into him, to see some of the ways in which the Twins are similar, not just the ways they’re so very different.

        For what it’s worth, my Lady tends towards being aloof and laconic at the best of times, even to her own. In comparison to Apollon, it must seem all the more dramatic a difference.

      • I have heard that Artemis tends to be very aloof. It is certainly different than Apollon, who tends to be very hands on. The upside to that aloofness, I suspect, is She likely isn’t near as controlling as Apollon can be.

      • In my experience, she’s aloof so that I chase after her presence, and she can lead me to all kinds of unusual places and odd snippets of gnosis that I might never have found had she not led me on a merry chase.

        All she’s ever required of me is that I commit to that chase, wholeheartedly. Beyond that, I have no vows, no obligations, no requests, even when I’ve *asked* for those things. Begged for them. In it’s own way, probably as frustrating as the reverse.

Leave a Reply

