Gratitude Project 2017, Day 14 – Odin

Everyone, I’m in a very bad place right now.  I’ve been watching the news all day, and my social media feeds are full of the recent events and tragedies in Virginia.  And then I got the scare of my life, having heard that another white supremicist rally was being planned for a university in Texas.  Although it wasn’t going to be near to my city, there is a notable KKK and Nazi presence in my city, and the surrounding towns.  Even though the rally was ultimately cancelled, the very cancellation will only anger and embolden these far-right terrorists.

It won’t be safe for me and my children to be seen in public, so we won’t be going anywhere unless it is absolutely necessary, for the foreseeable future.  I hope I’m wrong, but I’m not taking any chances.

Many of these terrorists like to invoke the name of Odin, as if the All-Father were one to condone their hatred and xenophobia.  But Odin values and covets all the world’s knowledge, from the many peoples and cultures He has encountered.  My relationship with Odin is between the two of us, but I’ll say this– He has never made me feel unwelcome to learn from Him, because I lack a certain genetic heritage.  It is my understanding that all Gods call whom They will, including the Heathen Gods.

This business of declaring oneself superior, due to arbitrary and minuscule genetic differences, will only lead to the downfall of these terrorists, and all who support them, especially if they continue to slander Odin and other Gods in the process.  What do they think is going to happen, I wonder, when the Powers they invoke actually show up?  It’s not likely to be pretty, but it will be just.  And that is why tonight, and every night, I am grateful for Odin.

#GratitudeProject2017

Leave a Reply

