Gratitude Project 2017, Day 20 – Melpomene

I would wager that most artists, whether they identify as Hellenic or not, have a working relationship with at least one of the Muses.  I work in several artistic fields, though my main field is writing.  Within this field, I touch upon several genres, but I do have a particular fondness for tragedy.

I don’t share most of my tragic works here, because they are strictly artistic pursuits which do not fit into the religious theme of this blog, but I have been writing in the tragic style since I was a young girl. Long before I knew there was a name for it, and certainly long before I realized there was a Goddess overseeing my art.

I don’t know what draws me to Melpomene– or rather, what draws Her to me.  It could be my lifetimes worth of trauma.  It could be my dark personality.  I may never know, but She has never been stingy with Her gifts.  Inspiration comes freely and easily.  The only thing stopping me from weaving the stories and poetry together is a lack of time and energy. But She doesn’t press.  She waits until I can do what She bids.

And when that time comes?  Oh, it is like a maelstrom of sensation!  My heart beats faster, my fingertips tingle, and I can scarcely navigate the physical world for the cacophony of words and scenes and dark delights in my head.  It is a type of possession, I am convinced.

But my Lady Melpomene is a gentle mistress.  She eases away after a couple of hours, and I am left feeling warm and tired, but well cared for. She leads me not to suffer for my art, for which I am grateful.  Most of all, though, I am grateful that She has taken me under Her tutelage, because without Melpomene, there would be no beautiful tragedy, at all.

#GratitudeProject2017

Leave a Reply

